Tuition and Fees
Kelly Wolf, Director, Office of Business Affairs
Oregon Hall, First Floor
Tuition is a basic charge paid by students enrolled at the University of Oregon. It includes instruction costs, health service fees, incidental fees, technology fee, building fees, registration fee, and recreation center bond fee. Except in the School of Law, for a full-time student in 2017–18, the health service fee was $191.00, the incidental fee was $238.50, the recreation center fee was $62.50, the recreation center bond fee was $38.00, the Erb Memorial Union fee was $67.00, and the building fee was $45.00. Each law student paid a $287.00 health service fee, a $358.00 incidental fee, a $94.00 recreation center fee, a $57.00 recreation bond fee, a $101.00 Erb Memorial Union fee, and a $68.00 building fee. Each admitted student, at the time of first enrollment, is assessed a matriculation fee of $430.00 to cover the cost of enrollment services. The fees are subject to change for 2018–19.
Payment of tuition entitles students to many services including instruction in university courses, use of the university libraries, use of laboratory and course equipment and certain materials in connection with courses for which students are registered, use of various microcomputer laboratories, medical attention at the University Health Center at reduced rates, and use of gymnasium equipment and laundry service for physical activity courses. Additional fees may be assessed for some services and courses. No reduction is made for students who do not want to use some of these services.
Tuition for resident and nonresident law students is listed in the School of Law catalog, available free from the UO School of Law. Health services and some incidental fee benefits are not available to students enrolled in the Community Education Program.
Tuition is paid by students under the standard conditions of undergraduate or graduate study, and it is payable as specified in official notices during registration each term. Special fees are paid under the conditions noted. The university’s policies on student charges and refunds follow the guidelines recommended by the American Council on Education. Details of the policies are available at the Office of Business Affairs on the first floor of Oregon Hall.
In the schedule, tuition is specified for one term only. There are three terms in the academic year: fall, winter, and spring (except for the School of Law, which operates on a two-semester system). Summer session operates on a separate tuition schedule that includes course self-support fees.
The Oregon University System reserves the right to make changes in the tuition schedule.
The tuition figures that follow are for 2017–18. Increases proposed for 2018–19 had not been confirmed at publication.
All figures rounded down to the nearest dollar.
|Each additional credit beyond 18||211||723|
Following is the base rate for graduate students.
|Full-time registration (one term):|
|Each additional credit beyond 16 is $538 for residents and $945 for nonresidents|
|Graduate assistant (9–16 credits)||61||61|
The graduate tuition rates listed are the base rate only. Each professional school has its own set of tuition rates; they are higher than the base rate listed in the table. Students must contact the relevant school to learn the specific cost for the major.
Tuition may be paid in monthly installments. Unpaid balances are assessed a $6 billing fee and are charged 9 percent annual interest. The university uses an electronic billing process to bill student for charges incurred; payments are due on the first of each month.
Community Education Program
Tuition for Community Education Program students enrolling for 8 or fewer credits is determined by the level of the courses taken. Courses accepted for graduate credit are assessed at the graduate tuition level; all others are assessed at the undergraduate level.
Special fees, fines, penalties, service charges, and other additional charges for specific courses, services, or supplies not covered in the tuition fee are set forth on a list available in many departmental offices or in the Office of Business Affairs. (This list is issued each year in accordance with OAR 571-60-005.)
The following fees are assessed to university students under the special conditions noted:
|Type of Fee||Fee Amount||Information|
|Application Fee||$65||Required of students not previously enrolled at the University of Oregon and payable when the application for admission is submitted. The fee is not refundable.|
|Bicycle Registration||$0||Bicycle registration with the Department of Public Safety is mandatory; there is no charge for a permanent permit. Bicycle racks and ramps are provided throughout the campus, and the development of cycling paths continues on campus and in the community. Copies of the complete university bicycle parking regulations and fines are available at the Department of Public Safety, 1319 E. 15th Ave.|
|Credit by Examination||$60 per course||Assessed for taking an examination for advanced credit. The fee applies to each special examination regardless of the number of credits sought.|
|Exceptions to Procedures||$10–$25||Approved exceptions to procedural deadlines are subject to this fee.|
|Late Registration||$100||A $100 fee is charged for registration after the eighth day of class.|
|Matriculation Fee||$389||For undergraduate and graduate students.|
||A minimal amount of parking space is available near residence halls and on city streets. Students using university parking lots must purchase and display proper parking permits. All parking fees are subject to change. Parking permits may be purchased from the Department of Public Safety, 1319 E. 15th Ave. Parking regulations are enforced at all times. A city bus system connects the university with most community areas. Student fees ensure each student a pass that allows unlimited free rides.|
|Replacement of Photo ID Card||$15|
|Returned Check||$20||Charge billed to the writer of any check that is returned to the university by the bank. Exceptions are bank or university errors. If not paid within 30 days, a returned check may be subject to a fine of $100 to $500.|
|Senior Citizens||$0||There is no charge to Oregon residents 65 years of age and older. Oregon senior citizens who are neither seeking academic credit nor working toward a degree may attend classes as senior auditors if space is available on the first day of classes and if the department approves. Charges may be made for any special materials. Incidental fee services are not provided. Registration is handled through the Office of the Registrar, second floor, Oregon Hall.|
|Staff||$63 per credit||University employees are permitted to enroll in university classes with the approval of their department head. Employees may enroll at the staff rate for a maximum of 12 credits per term.|
|Family of Staff||$59 per credit plus applicable fees (e.g., building, health, incidental)||Family members may enroll for a maximum of 12 credits per term.|
|Transcripts||$0||Students must submit a signed, written request to authorize release of their academic record. The mailing address is Transcript Department, Office of the Registrar, 5257 University of Oregon, Eugene, Oregon 97403-5257. The university reserves the right to withhold transcripts of students who have unpaid financial obligations to the institution. Debtors contesting their accounts should contact the collections department for counseling and instructions for a written appeal. The collections department is located in the Office of Business Affairs on the first floor of Oregon Hall. The mailing address is Collections Department, Office of Business Affairs, PO Box 3237, University of Oregon, Eugene, Oregon 97403-0237; call 541-346-3215.|
Tuition and Fee Refunds
In the event of complete withdrawal from the university or a reduction in course load, refunds may be granted to students in accordance with the refund schedule on file in the Office of Business Affairs in Oregon Hall. Refunds may take from four to six weeks to process. All refunds are subject to the following regulations:
Refunds are calculated from the date the student officially withdraws from the university, not from the date the student ceased attending classes, except in unusual cases when formal withdrawal has been delayed through causes largely beyond the student’s control
No refunds are made for any amount less than $1.00 unless a written request is made
In case of complete withdrawal, students who received financial aid are responsible for repayment of that aid in accordance with the university’s financial aid repayment policy and schedule. See the class schedule for details
For complete withdrawal, obtain withdrawal forms from the Office of Academic Advising, 364 Oregon Hall.
The university has an appeal process for students or parents contending that individual circumstances warrant exceptions to published policy if circumstances of withdrawal or course-load reduction are beyond the student’s control. Petitions for exception to the refund policy may be obtained from the Office of the Registrar on the second floor of Oregon Hall or from the Office of Academic Advising.
Veterans Access, Choice, and Accountability Act of 2014
The following individuals shall be charged the in-state rate, or otherwise considered a resident, for tuition and fees purposes:
- A veteran using educational assistance under either Chapter 30 (Montgomery GI Bill—Active Duty Program) or Chapter 33 (Post-9/11 GI Bill) of Title 38, United States Code, who lives in the state of Oregon while attending a school located in the state of Oregon (regardless of his or her formal state of residence) and enrolls in the school within three years of discharge or release from a period of active duty service of 90 days or more
- Anyone using transferred Post-9/11 GI Bill benefits (38 U.S.C. § 3319) who lives in the state of Oregon while attending a school located in the state of Oregon (regardless of his or her formal state of residence) and enrolls in the school within three years of the transferor's discharge or release from a period of active duty service of 90 days or more
- Anyone described above while he or she remains continuously enrolled (other than during regularly scheduled breaks between courses, semesters, or terms) at the same school. The person so described must have enrolled in the school prior to the expiration of the three-year period following discharge or release as described above and must be using educational benefits under either Chapter 30 or Chapter 33 of Title 38, United States Code
- Anyone using benefits under the Marine Gunnery Sergeant John David Fry Scholarship (38 U.S.C. § 3311(b)(9)) who lives in the state of Oregon while attending a school located in the state of Oregon (regardless of his or her formal state of residence)
- Anyone using transferred post-9/11 GI Bill benefits (38 U.S.C. § 3319) who lives in the state of Oregon while attending the University of Oregon (regardless of his or her formal state of residence) and the transferor is a member of the uniformed service who is serving on active duty